Southern Oklahoma Safety Consulting is pleased to announce the
Oklahoma Concealed Weapons course. The course is taught by Don
Westbrook. Westbrook is Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
(OSBI) approved and certified by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and
Training (CLEET). The concealed weapons course is taught according to the
guidelines of the Oklahoma Self Defense Act (SDA). Classes meet the
educational requirements to obtain an Oklahoma Concealed Carry License. A
one day class is 8-hours in length. The curriculum consists of classroom
instruction, written test and a live fire qualification. Courses are held
in Healdton, OK, in Carter County at the Healdton Odd Fellows Lodge on Main St.
Who is eligible to take the course and receive an Oklahoma
Concealed Weapons License?
eligible you must:
Be a United States citizen
Be an Oklahoma resident
Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age
Complete a firearms safety and training course (This course)
Submit the required fee and complete the application process
Comply in good faith with the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.
View all requirements for eligibility at
What does it cost to get my license?
- Concealed Carry
Fingerprinting (Local Sheriff)
Background Check & License (OSBI) $100.00 (for a 5 year
license, $200.00 for a 10 year license)
Do I have to pay everything at once?
No, your Safety &
Training Course (Concealed Carry class) certificate does not expire, you can
take the class and wait to submit your application. However, you must be
ready to pay all fees when you visit your local Sheriffs Office.
How long does it take for me to receive my license once I apply?
The OSBI has 90 days to
issue or deny the license from the date they received the application from the
What type of firearm do I need to take the course?
You can take the course
with either a derringer, revolver or semi-automatic. However, if taken
with a semi-automatic you are permitted to carry all three types of handguns.
If taken with a revolver, you can only carry a revolver & derringer.
If taken with a derringer, you may only carry a derringer. It is a
good idea to take the course with a semi-automatic if possible.
Do I need to take the class with the same handgun I intend on
No, Oklahoma does not
require you to carry the same gun you complete the training with. As
long as you are carrying the same type (see previous question). Oklahoma
does not require you to submit handgun serial numbers to them on the handguns
you are carrying. You could carry a different handgun each day.
What other states recognize Oklahoma's Concealed Weapons License?
For a complete list of
states that have a reciprocity with Oklahoma, click on this link: Reciprocity
The following items should be brought with you the day of the
class. DO NOT bring ammo into the classroom, leave secured in your vehicle.
- Oklahoma Drivers License or Oklahoma
- Baseball type cap or hat with brim or bill
- Firearm, no larger than .45 caliber (all
firearms MUST be safety inspected)
- 50 rounds NEW FACTORY Ammo (no reloads
commercial or otherwise)
- Hearing Protection
- Eye Protection
- Pencil, pen & paper (black ink)
- Wet weather gear (optional, but
Date & Course Time:
Second Saturday of each month 08:00 a.m. to 05:00 p.m.
(If increment weather, please contact instructor)
Classes for groups of 10 or more students can be scheduled to accommodate specific needs.